February 20, 2011

Nursery Decor

Posted in Sewing at 8:01 pm by merknits

Yesterday my sister and I headed over to The Needle Shop to look for some fabric to begin decorating the nursery.  I wanted something nature-themed but still somewhat modern, since our apartment is very modern, as is the furniture we ordered.  Oh, and did I mention that we’re having a girl!?!?  I don’t want the decor to be too girly, but I do still want it to have some feminine touches.  I think these fabrics are a good start!

nursery fabrics

Both of the leaf patterns are by Jessica Jones – the big leaves are called “Sprig” and the small ones are called “Herb.”  The other fabric is “Spotted Owl” by Alexander Henry.  I’m planning to make a laundry bag with Sprig and a crib skirt with Herb, and I’m not sure what I’ll do with the owl fabric – but it was just too darn cute to pass up!

owl fabric

I’m actually almost finished with the laundry bag – I’m using the pattern from One Yard Wonders.  I can’t actually make the crib skirt until our crib comes in (well, I could, but I want to make sure it is the right size)!  And I’m hoping to incorporate these cute birds into the room somewhere.  I’m looking forward to updating as the room takes shape!

4 Comments »

  1. del said,

    Pretty fabrics! Congrats on having a GIRL, awwwww.

  2. Emily said,

    Super cut fabric! The green is perfect!!

  3. kelly said,

    I saw these fabrics on flickr and came over here and omg congrats! Very exciting news!

    I love that owl fabric – I call it the grumpy owl print, but it’s perfect for a kid’s room.

  4. Sarah said,

    A little girl, so much fun!

    Great fabrics. Perhaps you’ll inspire me to be more creative with our next nursery (for Eleanor’s sibling — arriving in August!)


Leave a Reply

