February 2, 2011

Snow Day!

Posted in Finished Objects at 8:51 pm by merknits

Well, technically it was a work-from-home day, but I managed to get some other things done too.  We had some pretty crazy weather last night – lots of thundersnow!  And it was so windy too.  Luckily I work within walking distance of home so it wasn’t a problem making it home after work, although I did have to grab on to some buildings and lamp posts along the way to make sure I wasn’t blown down Michigan Avenue!

snow day 1

snow day 2

It was pretty much a ghost town downtown this morning – these pictures were from around 10:30 this morning, and usually those parking lots are full.  After the snow finally ended around noon, the snow plows came out and people started wandering around and taking pictures!  In all, I think we ended up with about 20 inches of snow.

It gave me some time to finish baby’s first knitted items, though!

hat and bootees

baby hat

Patterns:  Hat from the Pea Pod Baby Set by Kate Gilbert and Cotton Bootees from Easy Baby Knits
Yarn: Rowan Calmer
Notes: These both may have turned out a bit big – but I think they’ll get some use eventually!  I’ve been wanting to make the Pea Pod set for a while, but didn’t have enough yarn for both the sweater and hat.  The hat is actually a bit confusing – I couldn’t figure out how to do the decreases without cutting into the lace panel until I realized that when the pattern says “arrange stitches so there are # on each needle,” you are actually supposed to rearrange everything so that the lace panel is centered on one needle.  I’m not sure why it’s not written so that the panel is centered to begin with.  But in the end, it turned out pretty cute!  The bootees are, as the name of the book implies, pretty easy and quick.

Speaking of handmade baby items, look at the cute little guy my husband’s cousin’s wife crocheted for us!  Awwww.

alligator

4 Comments »

  1. Ceci said,

    Cute!!! Glad you didn’t get blown away. This is some winter!!

  2. del said,

    Brrrr, that looks absolutely FREEZING. I think my hubby is now glad he moved from Chicago when he did. 🙂

    The baby stuff will definitely fit eventually; they grow so quickly you may be surprised to see how soon it all fits. Cute work!

  3. Emily said,

    Wow, that’s a lot of snow!
    That Pea Pod baby set is so cute but I agree, I remember the directions to be somewhat difficult.

  4. Debby said,

    You have as much snow as we do…we’re running out of places to put it all and I’m sure you are too!

    The little knits are so cute. You must have trouble deciding what to knit next!


Leave a Reply

