January 2, 2011

Happy New Year!

Posted in Finished Objects, In Progress, Sewing at 4:08 pm by merknits

I knew that I wasn’t going to make many gifts for Christmas this year, considering how slowly I am knitting and sewing lately, but I did manage to make something for my mom:

cuddle up cardigan

Pattern: Cuddle-Up Cardigan from Sew Everything Workshop
Fabric: Sweatshirt fabric from JoAnns
Notes: Very easy and a nice comfortable cardigan!  I made the sleeves narrower than instructed, and I think they still turned out a bit wide, especially if you are trying to do anything that requires the use of your hands while wearing it.  But overall, I think it was a good project.  There is an error in the instructions on steps 24 and 25, though the diagrams are correct.  It is pretty easy to figure out the issue – if you follow the instructions as written the belt ends up being inside-out.

I also made a beret for my aunt, who saw the one I made for my mom and asked for a similar one in black:

purl beret black

purl beret back black

My photographer kindly made the pictures more interesting by focusing on the view from our window!

Pattern: Purl Beret from The Purl Bee
Yarn: St Denis Nordique in black
Notes: I actually made two versions of this, as the first turned out too big.  I cast on ten fewer stitches the second time and it worked out much better.

And finally, a new project:

Francis Revisited in progress

This is Francis Revisited, and it is so nice to have a quick project on the needles after the Apres Surf Hoodie!

3 Comments »

  1. Sara said,

    That cardigan you made for you mom does look so comfy cozy! The beret looks great (as does the view) and the sweater looks very warm too – a necessity here in the cold midwest!

  2. Debby said,

    Happy New Year! Your mom’s cardigan and the beret came out so well! I am sure they are really enjoying wearing them.

    I am going to look up Francis Revisited on Ravelry right now — it looks like the kind of sweater project I need. I’ve ripped back on the Forever Tweed sweater twice and it’s still not right. I will get there though!

  3. […] MerKnits! made the Cuddle Up Cardigan for her mom, and she seems pretty happy with it. She gives good critiques of her sewing projects, and has comments about several other Sew Everything Workshop projects, if you are following along in the book. […]


Leave a Reply

