November 23, 2010

Apres Surf Hoodie

Posted in Finished Objects at 7:22 pm by merknits

I present the Apres Surf Hoodie, nearly a year in the making:

Apres Surf Hoodie Finished

Apres Surf Hoodie Back

Pattern: Apres Surf Hoodie by Connie Chang Chinchio from Interweave Knits, Summer 2008
Yarn: Rowan 4 Ply Soft (I don’t know how many balls – I think 7 – but it wasn’t enough anyway)
Notes: According to Ravelry, I started this on December 29, 2009.  I’m not sure why it took me so long to finish – I guess all of the lace and small needles.  But it is done, and I like it!  The yarn is super soft, though I was not happy with the fact that the yarn was nearly broken in a lot of places in most of the balls.  Obviously I didn’t calculate my yardage correctly and ended up not being able to do the hood or the i-cord bind off.  But overall, it is definitely wearable.  It also grew a lot after blocking, which is good because it was way too short before that.  Now that I’m done, I’m looking forward to some easier knitting with thicker yarn!

I just noticed how tired I look in the FO picture – it’s been a long couple of weeks!  I’m happy to have a few days off for the Thanksgiving weekend.  Hope everyone who celebrates has a nice break as well!

4 Comments »

  1. Emily said,

    It’s really beautiful! and I see that is it the perfect fit! great FO!

  2. Debby said,

    Your new sweater and dress are amazing! Congratulations on hanging in there and finishing the sweater. I have a couple of UFOs like that and it may take me a bit, but I will finish them too.

    Hope you had a good rest this Thanksgiving weekend!

  3. girlwhoknits said,

    This looks great as a vneck without hood so even though you didn’t have enough yarn I think it totally works.

  4. Sara said,

    Lovely Lovely job!


Leave a Reply

