September 26, 2010

Watercolors Skirt

Posted in Finished Objects, Sewing at 6:18 pm by merknits

I’ve been trying to dress a little more professionally lately, and I’m happy that the “Naughty Secretary Skirt” will be able to help with that.  I’ve been lucky to have jobs that haven’t required me to wear anything too conservative or dressy, but that means that I don’t really have many well-put-together outfits.  This one is a winner!

skirt finished

skirt close up

Pattern: Naughty Secretary Skirt from Sew Everything Workshop
Fabric: Midnight Jewels Collection-Watercolors Stretch Sateen from JoAnn Fabrics
Notes: I love this fabric!  So pretty, and the stretch cotton is perfect for a pencil skirt.  I ended up making a size between a small and a medium, though I think I could have gone with a small so it was a bit more fitted.  Also, I don’t think I followed the waistband instructions correctly, but it looks fine on the outside, so I’m ok with it.  Sewing is pretty nice for quick projects – I love having a new skirt after just one day of work!

3 Comments »

  1. Ceci said,

    Nice style! Beautiful colors – great fit.

  2. Sara said,

    It looks fantastic!! It coordinates with that sweater so perfectly!

  3. Debby said,

    Such pretty fabric and it looks great on you! It almost makes me want to learn to sew (but I don’t have time for another hobby…). I like the sweater and necklace you chose to wear with it.


Leave a Reply

