September 11, 2010

Look, I made something!

Posted in Finished Objects, Sewing at 6:36 pm by merknits

Actually, several things:

IMG_1297

Pattern: Purl Beret from Purl Bee
Yarn: Knit Picks Andean Treasure in Meringue Heather
Notes:  This was a birthday present for my mom who had wanted a plain, off-white winter hat that wouldn’t give her hat-head.  I ended up starting with size 3 needles, but realized the hat was coming out huge and had to frog and restart with size 2.

IMG_1295

IMG_1294

Pattern: Rose Window Beret from Interweave Knits Spring 2010
Yarn: Knit Picks Shine Sport in High Dive
Notes: Sorry for the fuzzy pictures – I’m not so good at self- portraits.  This took me way too long to make than it should have, but I’m happy with it!  The band is not very stretchy because of the cotton yarn, but it is tight enough that it won’t fall off my head.

IMG_1299

Pattern: Naughty Secretary Skirt from Sew Everything Workshop
Notes: I re-purposed fabric from a circle skirt I made a long long time ago that didn’t turn out well.  Unfortunately this didn’t turn out well either – it is too big and too short.  I knew it would be shorter than I wanted because I didn’t have quite enough fabric, but I had hoped to still be able to wear it.  At least it now I know the size I should make, and I hope to try this pattern again!

IMG_1327

After watching Alton Brown the other day, my husband insisted that we try to make sushi.  I’m not a big fan, but I did like the California Rolls.  They aren’t the prettiest, but everything tasted good!

I’ve actually been knitting again lately – yay!  Hopefully I’ll have more to show for it soon.

5 Comments »

  1. Ceci said,

    Love the hats! I’m glad you are back to knitting – your projects are always so beautifully done.

  2. Emily said,

    The hats are adorable!
    Yummm, I love sushi! I’ve made it one time and it was so much work! I’ll stick to buying it at the store.

  3. Debby said,

    Your berets came out so nicely; it looks like they fit very well. I love the skirt too and I’m sorry you weren’t happy with the finished project.

    Glad to see you posting again!

  4. Sara said,

    The berets look lovely & I hope that the skirt turns out better next time!

  5. tara said,

    We love Alton Brown too! We’re currently making pickles after watching the dill pickle episode.


Leave a Reply

