October 26, 2009

Gathered Pullover

Posted in Finished Objects, Project Spectrum at 10:57 am by merknits

I love this sweater!

gathered pullover

Pattern: Gathered Pullover from Interweave Knits Winter 2007
Yarn: Knit Picks Merino Style in Storm
Notes: Very happy with this one – I knit the 36 1/4″ size with a different gauge to get a slightly smaller finished sweater.  It did grow a little bit after washing, but not enough to be too big.  I lengthened the body and sleeves by at least 1″.  And despite the fact that I have discovered that I’m pretty sensitive to wool (I never really realized this before since I didn’t wear scarves or wool sweaters much in Houston), the Merino Style doesn’t bother me at all.  And I love the color!  It bled quite a bit as I was knitting on to my needles, but seemed to be fine when I washed and blocked it.

More good news – I got a job!  I start in a week, so perhaps I’ll try to fit in some marathon knitting sessions before then.  I’m glad to have a job again, but I’ll definitely miss my knitting time!

7 Comments »

  1. Emily said,

    what a pretty sweater! it came out really nice!

  2. amanda said,

    beautiful! this is a great pattern.

  3. Susan said,

    Great sweater. And yay for the job!

  4. Ceci said,

    Great sweater – wonderful color! And congrats on your new job 😉

  5. del said,

    I love this pattern. Yours came out beautifully. It looks like such a warm, cozy knit to wear this season. Congrats on your job!

  6. essjay said,

    Such a lovely job & a lovely cover!

    Thanks for the invite to your knitting group last week! Sorry I didn’t make it – next time we are in Chicago I’ll make it! I didn’t go to any yarn stores on this trip which is fairly shocking!

    Congratulations on the new job!

  7. girlwhoknits said,

    Jobs always get in the way of fun…well, not always. And really, if it weren’t for my job I wouldn’t be able to afford the fun. So congrats on your job. Also, great sweater!


Leave a Reply

