October 7, 2009

Eyelet Cap

Posted in Finished Objects, Project Spectrum at 4:33 pm by merknits

No finished sweater yet – I’ve forgotten how long it takes to make something with long sleeves!  But I do have an FO to share:

eyelet cap

Pattern: Eyelet Cap from Vogue Knitting, Fall 2009
Yarn: Elsebeth Lavold Silky Tweed (I think, I can’t find the wrapper and it was given to me partially used), around 1.25 balls
Notes: I’m liking this hat!  It didn’t turn out quite as slouchy as it was supposed to be, but considering that I didn’t swatch, I’m fine with that.  My only modifications were that I changed to a size 2 needle for the ribbing to tighten it up and I only did 6 inches of ribbing rather than 8 (you fold over the ribbing and sew it down once you’re done).

The husband and I enjoy making stuff from scratch, but usually our hobbies don’t intersect – he brews beer and roasts coffee beans, I knit and sew – but he thought we should have a shared hobby and bought a cheese making kit.  Here are some of the results:

gouda

cheddar

It really wasn’t too difficult, there’s just a lot of waiting involved.  In fact, we won’t really know how these turned out for a while.  We made gouda and cheddar, plus there’s a monterey jack I didn’t get a picture of.  I’ll give you an update in a few months once they’ve aged!

6 Comments »

  1. essjay said,

    The hat is lovely – I really like the color. I’ve found blocking hats with a dinner plate inside helps with the slouchiness – I have the same problem, they are never quite slouchy enough.

    Homemade cheese is quite the adventure – I can’t wait to hear how it turns out!

  2. del said,

    I love all the cool hats in that issue. Yours is cute!

    Be sure and tell us how the cheese turns out. Sounds yummy!

  3. Emily said,

    You look so good in hats! that is such a pretty pattern!
    What a fun thing for you to do together! We may have to try that sometime. I wonder if the chedder really tastes like chedder? We took my dad to a cheese shop in Dallas where we made ricotta and mozzarella from scratch. It was fun!

  4. amanda said,

    Love the cap! And just in time as cold weather rolls in. How fun to make cheese – please let us know how it comes out!

  5. Ceci said,

    Great hat – and you’ll get lots more use of it up there. Oooohh- cheese. Fun endeavor!

  6. Debby said,

    The hat looks very flattering on you! Such a pretty color too.

    Homemade cheese? I am very impressed! Let us know how it turns out!


Leave a Reply

