October 2, 2009

Placemats!

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:30 pm by merknits

My exciting sewing project for this week – placemats!

Placemats

Nothing too fancy, but I think they go nicely with our table.  I should have actually measured the store-bought placemats that I have to find out the ideal size, but I used a pattern from Home Sewn as a guide instead.  As you can see, they turned out a bit big.  I didn’t actually use the Home Sewn pattern, I just cut out rectangles and sewed them together with some interfacing in between.  I could have been more careful with my cutting (this fabric really makes crooked cuts obvious) but overall I’m happy with them.  The fabric is Alexander Henry’s Maxfield cotton.

The weather has gotten cooler, so I’m hoping to finish up some knitting to wear!  The Gathered Pullover is coming together quickly, but I’ve stalled on it lately.  Hopefully I’ll have an FO post for it soon!

5 Comments »

  1. sara said,

    They look great – they go with the table & furniture perfectly! I’ve been meaning to make place mats for a while now – I just need to find the time.

  2. del said,

    They’re cute! And they go perfectly with your furniture.

  3. Sarah said,

    I really like these. Good job!

  4. Debby said,

    They are so fun! I envy your being able to make things for your home.

  5. Ceci said,

    Love the fabric – it goes perfectly with your table. The mats look great….
    It is starting to get a bit cooler here too.


Leave a Reply

