September 22, 2009

Just in time for fall

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:36 am by merknits

I think I may still get to wear this a few times before I need to pull out the fall clothes:

josephine top finished

Pattern: Josephine Top from Interweave Knits Summer 2007
Yarn:Elsebeth Lavold Cotton Patine, 8 balls in color #27
Notes:I’m quite happy with this!  I wasn’t too sure if the sizing would work out, because I used a thicker yarn on small needles (size 4) and, because my gauge was off, knit a size small hoping to get a slightly smaller size than that.  It turned out well, despite the fact that it was looking rather big on the needles.  As I mentioned before, I knit the bottom portion in the round and split to flat knitting after the eyelet round.  I lengthened the distance between the eyelets and armholes by a little bit and I’m glad I did, otherwise it would have fit awkwardly.  And I used a ribbon rather than the knitted cord in the pattern, though I may buy a different colored one at some point.

Now, time to begin some winter knits!
Merino Style

I’ve had some Merino Style in this lovely color (Storm) for a while now to make the Gathered Pullover from Interweave Winter 2007.  I’ll have to do some fudging with the gauge, but I think it can work!

Oh, and speaking of fall, my husband’s family has an old cider press that hadn’t been used in years, so we drove out to the farm the other week to clean it out and make some fresh cider.  It was a lot of work, but worth it for the delicious cider!
IMG_0895

Apples…

IMG_0896

…and more apples

IMG_0910

Pressing the cider

IMG_0914

The apple remains after 19 gallons of cider!

5 Comments »

  1. Soknitpicky said,

    The top looks awesome. Too bad you’re not still in TX–you’d have a couple of months of wear left! 🙂

    Wowsa on the apple cider. I can’t wait for cooler weather to sip some caramel apple cider. Of course, mine won’t be fresh like that. Jealous!

  2. Susan said,

    Wow, fresh-pressed apple cider…sigh. Autumn *is* my favorite season, and apples are second only to pumpkins for autumn joy!

    It got down to a positively Arctic 72 today! There’s hope yet…

  3. Debby said,

    Your top came out just fine!

    I’m amazed at all of those apples. Wow! You’re going to have some wonderful cider for the next few months.

  4. del said,

    Gosh, look at all those apples — They look delicious!

    And your Josephine came out beautifully! Great job!

  5. essjay said,

    Josephine is lovely – it fits perfectly! Those apples are insane – but I bet the cider was tasty!


Leave a Reply

