September 9, 2009

OpArt Blanket!

Posted in Finished Objects, In Progress at 3:36 pm by merknits

I’m so glad to have this finally finished!

OpArt finished

OpArt closeup

Pattern: OpArt Blanket
Yarn: Lily Chin Chelsea, I think 3 balls of each color
Notes: I don’t think I’ve ever taken so long to finish something!  I started this back on November 13, 2008.  Along the way, it has changed intended recipients, as the baby this was originally for is about 6 months old now.  But luckily one of my best friends is pregnant and I’m sure she will appreciate this gift.

The pattern itself certainly isn’t hard so I’m not sure why it took me so long.  It just wasn’t too fun, especially as the rounds got larger and larger.  But the finished product is pretty cool looking, I have to say.  I ran out of yarn for the last two stripes but at that point I just didn’t care!

Now to try to finish up the Josephine Top:

IMG_0890

My new goal is to finish by the end of September, as I kind of forgot that summer ends much earlier here than it does in Houston.  I’m using Elsebeth Lavold Cotton Patine and knit the lace part in the round before splitting for the front and back.

7 Comments »

  1. Erin said,

    I was just blog browsing pictures (bad habit) and I had to stop and comment at how cool your blanket is. I love when I see something new that looks interesting and not like anything I have seen before. Very cool.

  2. Ceci said,

    The blanket is great! The smaller white stripe looks like an intentional border. Yay for finishing 🙂

    And Josephine is stunning. The color is lovely too. I’ll let you know how the City Tweed does… so far the reviews have been good. Have a good weekend.

  3. Debby said,

    That blanket is so cool and different! I’m sure your friend will love it. I hope you’re able to finish Josephine fast so you can enjoy it before it gets too cold. I’m shocked at how fast the temperatures are dropping since the end of August. No fair — I still have a few summer knits to go! 🙂

  4. Cool! My eyes are going all googly, and the world is starting to spin 🙂 I’m going to have to make one of these…

    Your Josephine is looking lovely 🙂

  5. essjay said,

    The blanket looks fantastic and that sweater is so lovely!

  6. amanda said,

    cool blanket! your josephine looks great too- good luck finishing!

  7. erin said,

    Love the blanket!! Did you block it into that shape or is that how it came out when you finished knitting it?


Leave a Reply

