August 10, 2009

Sewing Frenzy

Posted in Finished Objects, Sewing at 9:13 pm by merknits

For me, two projects is pretty much a frenzy, anyway.

spring top

Pattern: Spring Ruffle Top Tutorial
Fabric: Some cotton from Joann
Notes: This fabric actually started out as the Mendocino Sundress, but since I cut it way too small, I was able to re-use the fabric to make a top instead. The tutorial is very well written – I omitted the pleats since I didn’t quite have enough fabric and the ruffles because I didn’t feel like doing them. šŸ™‚

mini dress

mini dress back

Pattern: Mini Dress, Tunic and TopĀ pattern from Amy Butler, size medium of the dress
Fabric: Legacy Studio Kimono Collection Cotton Print – Large Mums from Joann
Notes: In all, an easy to follow pattern and a pretty cute result. I made a muslin of the size small and decided it was too tight, so I ended up making a size medium. I think that a size in between would have been best, but I’m happy with the way the medium fits. This was a good learning project for me – I did my first invisible zipper, which was not as invisible as I would have liked, but ok considering I didn’t have an invisible zipper foot. I also should have thought a bit more about the placement of the fabric on the back panels as well.Ā  Well, now I know for next time!

2 Comments »

  1. Ceci said,

    Great sewing! Your projects always look so good. You are one crafty lady.

  2. earthchick said,

    Ooh, pretty pretty! Yay for sewing frenzies!!


Leave a Reply

