July 27, 2009

Flutter Sleeve Cardigan

Posted in Finished Objects, Project Spectrum at 10:55 am by merknits

Just as I complain about not getting much knitting done, I finish another project!

flutter sleeve cardigan

flutter sleeve cardigan back

flutter sleeve cardigan side

Pattern: Flutter Sleeve Cardigan from Interweave Knits Spring 2008
Yarn: Vermont Organic Fiber Company O-Wool Balance (about 6.5 skeins)
Notes: Aside from the fact that the sleeves are not fluttery (maybe baggy), I like the final product. I made a slightly smaller size than the smallest written (36″) by knitting at a tighter gauge. I think I would have been fine with the 36″ though, as the button bands are pulling a bit now. I think I will have to reinforce the buttonholes before I can wear it.  Oh, and somehow the short row ribbing ended up taller on one front piece than the other.  I’m not sure if I misread something or if my gauge just changed, but I don’t think it’s too noticeable.

The yarn looks nice knitted up and softens a bit after washing, but knitting with it is another story. Very stiff and hard on my hands and wrists, especially with size 5 needles. But I love the color and the tweedy look of the knitted fabric.

I just cast on for the Josephine Top last night, and I’m hoping that I can finish before summer is over. I’m actually quite looking forward to planning some fall and winter knitting this year – I’ll have to update my stash to include some wool!

7 Comments »

  1. Emily said,

    The ribbing at the waist being taller on the one side happened to me too! I thought maybe I had done the short rows differently on the one side. Good job, it looks great one you!

  2. I’m currently working on this. Yours looks great.

  3. Ceci said,

    That color on you is fabulous. It looks like a great fit (can’t see the pulling of the button band). I hope you get lots of wear from it 🙂 And btw – thanks for your comment – Mexico was great.

  4. Debby said,

    The sweater looks perfect on you from the pictures you’ve shared, and it’s such a great classic style.

    I hope you finish Josephine so you can enjoy it before summer ends! I’m feeling that pressure a little too.

  5. Beautiful!

  6. amanda said,

    This looks great on you. I had queued this pattern when it came out, but didn’t think the FOs I saw on Ravelry looked that great. Yours definitely makes me take a second look!

  7. Emily said,

    That is soooo cute on you! it looks so wearable too. I love it!


Leave a Reply

