July 13, 2009

Hooray for summer!*

Posted in Finished Objects, Sewing at 4:13 pm by merknits

It took me a little while, but I have a finished Mendocino Sundress:

mendocino sundress

mendocino sundress back

While the sewing wasn’t too hard overall, I had some issues with this one. First of all, I couldn’t get the pattern to print correctly from the pdf. Someone left a comment on Heather Ross’ blog about pasting the pdf as an object in an Excel spreadsheet, which ended up working out for me.

I started out sewing the smaller size and got through the first few rows of elastic when I decided to try it on. I couldn’t even get it over my shoulders! Either I put together and cut out the pattern pages incorrectly or the sizing is way off. It didn’t seem like others who made the pattern had sizing issues, so I’m thinking it may have been user error. So, I decided I really should have made a muslin anyway and set to work making a larger size with an old sheet. After figuring out the size I really should have made, I tried again with this cute green and brown printed cotton from Joann Fabrics. I’m quite happy with the final version, and am looking forward to wearing it during this gorgeous weather that we’ve been having!

*I can say this now that I’m not in Houston where it’s been a million degrees every day.

2 Comments »

  1. Ceci said,

    How cute!! What a creative person you are 🙂 I hope all is going well in the north. You are missing the heat that came a bit early this year.

  2. Erin said,

    SO cute! I just made one of these too and love it. I like the thick straps you made too.


Leave a Reply

