July 5, 2009

Not much knitting

Posted in In Progress, Sewing at 2:21 pm by merknits

I had thought that with the limited amount of time I’ve been working (around 2 hours a day, and from home) I would have plenty of time to finish knitting projects. Somehow, that hasn’t really happened. I did cast on for the Flutter Sleeve Cardigan from IK Spring 2008 using Vermont Organic Fiber Company O-Wool Balance and am about halfway done:

flutter sleeve back

I also set up the sewing machine and spent a while making a new purse for my sister. Luckily, I ordered extra fabric because the first purse I made ended up being a “test” version after I cut the fabric the wrong way (oops). The final version turned out pretty well though, I think:

flea market bag

flea market bag2

The pattern is the Flea Market Bag by Tanya Whelan (one of her Grand Revival patterns). I think it is a good, basic bag pattern for novice sewers like myself, and there are several sizes and strap options included. This is the small bag with the regular shoulder strap. I modified it by adding a magnetic snap and using heavy home decor fabric to hopefully make it a bit more durable.

I’ve got a bunch of summery cotton fabric from a trip to the fabric store with my mother-in-law, so hopefully I can finish a couple fun sundresses before the summer is over!

2 Comments »

  1. Debby said,

    Your cardigan is coming along nicely! I think that bag is so versatile. You can use it not only as a purse, but as a small tote. I’m sure your sister will love it.

  2. trek said,

    Nice sewing job, there.

    I’ve found that “stuff” just seems to clutter up the day no matter how many or how few hours are spent working, too.


Leave a Reply

