February 21, 2009

Changes!

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:15 pm by merknits

All sorts of new things going on around here, but I’ll start out with the knitting:
juno regina finished

Pattern: Juno Regina from Knitty
Yarn: Knit Picks Gloss, about 3.5 balls, I think
Notes:  Quite happy with this one!  It is fairly easy but still somewhat interesting (except for that long middle stretch) and using a slightly thicker yarn made it go rather quickly.  I also made use of blocking wires for the first time with this project, and I’m glad I did!

By the way, I took a ton of pictures using the self timer and this was the only one that wasn’t blurry.  I have to figure out how to use this new camera!

I’ve decided to make some knitting-related changes – the Lacy Cardigan has been abandoned, as I decided there was no way I could do a whole sweater in that lace pattern with mohair yarn.  I would like to try it again in a smooth yarn someday, but in the meantime I think I’ll use the lovely purple mohair for this sweater.

Bigger, life-related changes include a move to Chicago in about three months!  We’ve known for a while, but it’s just now started to sink in and I’m kind of stressing out over everything that needs to be done, including finding a new job (at least my husband will have a job – that’s why we’re moving).  It doesn’t help that my current job and my volunteer “job” are extremely busy and stressful right now too.  I am excited about it, especially since our families and many of our friends are in Illinois, but I will actually be sad to leave Houston.  But hey, now I’ll have an excuse to knit with wool and plenty of opportunities to wear handknitted items!

9 Comments »

  1. Ceci said,

    That is stunning!!! And the photo is beautiful …

    Congratulations on the move. It will certainly be a change from Houston – no tornados 🙂 and you can wear your hand knits a LOT!! There are lots of musical opportunities there too.

    Yes- the Juicy DK feels wonderful.

  2. Emily said,

    The shawl is gorgeous!
    How exciting to move somewhere that has actual seasons! a big change indeed!

  3. amanda said,

    Beautiful knitting!! Wow, good luck with your move. What a big change, but you are right – you will need those handknits in the winter 🙂

  4. Sharon said,

    LOVE the shawl. It’s gorgeous.
    And, wow, Chicago! That’s going to be quite a change – enjoy it, and good luck with the move!

  5. Debby said,

    Your shawl is so beautiful!

    Best wishes with your upcoming move. I hope it is not too stressful between now and then, and you find the perfect place to live. I also hope you find a job that you love. I’m out of work now and looking at the options is a little depressing, but I guess when the right thing comes along, we will know it. 🙂

  6. Erin said,

    That really is a beautiful shawl. Just lovely.

    Good luck with the move, I hate the act of moving but I love the idea of starting somewhere fresh. So in the end I think moves are fun.

  7. Allegra said,

    been meaning to comment on this post for ages! the shawl is beautiful! best of luck with the move to chicago–will you be in the city or suburbs?

  8. Beautiful! Good luck with the move.

  9. ck said,

    Wow…Chicago will be quite a change from Texas! On the plus side, you already know a bunch of great knitters there from KH 🙂 OMG…LOVE the squirrel, btw.


Leave a Reply

