November 16, 2008

Ready for Winter!

Posted in Finished Objects at 9:59 pm by merknits

I decided a few quick projects would be a nice break after the big cabley project and before the big lacy project.  Both were pretty easy and very fun!

entrelac scarf

Pattern: Entrelac Scarf from the tutorial here
Yarn: Paton’s Soy Wool Stripes (2.5 balls)
Notes: Great, easy to follow tutorial, and the yarn is perfect for entrelac!  I do find it a bit scratchy, but I think I can deal with it.

mittens and scarf

Pattern: Target Wave Mittens from Knitting Nature
Yarn: Paton’s Soy Wool Solids and leftover Soy Wool Stripes from the scarf
Notes: I like how the stripes turned out slightly different on each mitten!  I used the pattern for the child’s medium (for the most part) with a thicker yarn and they fit me just fine.  They do look funny by themselves though:

mittens alone

Now, to decide if I really want to knit some Christmas gifts this year or if I should just continue knitting for me…

6 Comments »

  1. del said,

    I say knit more for you. lol. Just kidding. I LOVE the scarf & the mitts. Totally cute.

  2. Plum Texan said,

    Still loving that scarf! Looking forward to finding out about the big lacy project.

  3. Erin said,

    That really is the big debate isn’t it? Right now I am all excited about Christmas knitting though. I wonder how long it will last…

  4. amanda said,

    very cute! those mittens are so fun.

  5. Ceci said,

    Beautiful Entrelac!!!! And how you placed the stripes around the thumbs is perfectly crafty! What wonderful knitting you do 🙂

  6. essjay said,

    I’m late to this party – but those mittens are really cool! I do hope they kept you warm in the latest snow storm in Texas!


Leave a Reply

