February 9, 2008

I’m free!

Posted in Finished Objects, Project Spectrum at 3:28 pm by merknits

After being sick nearly the whole month of January and helping to coordinate a big event for work that took place last night, I feel like I can now finally get back into normal life.  Which includes returning to my knitting, of course.  Even though I didn’t knit much in the past month, I was still able to finish a bulky sweater:

7aafd3e8c212d803b73ec6f375442b59.jpg

56ffc3361d673b390fb3735a2b8dc9f3.jpg
(sorry about the pictures, my usual photographer is out of town and I’m not so good at self-portraits)
Pattern: A combination of the Ballet Wrap Cardigan from Interweave Knits Winter 2005 and the Wrap Jacket with Hood (#40) from Rebecca 32.
Yarn: Merino Bulky from handpaintedyarn.com in Pagoda, 6 balls (size 10 1/2 needles)
Notes:  Even after frogging the entire body, this was still a quick knit.  I used the Rebecca pattern for the edging/ties and the idea of knitting the body in one piece.  The rest of the pattern is the Ballet Wrap Cardigan.  I think the fact that the ties are on my hips rather than my waist and that my gauge was a little off created a little less coverage in the front than I’d like, but it still works.
The only major modification I made on the Ballet Wrap pattern was to create an edging for the back of the neck–the pattern has you leave it as a raw bind-off.  I continued the ribbing pattern from the front edges around to the back by not binding off the 5 neck stitches, continuing the two edges in pattern until they meet in the back, and sewing them down.  The seam is not so pretty, but I still think it’s an improvement:
80a8b933acacca528d10aa65e720f1b6.jpg
And the yarn is sooo soft and smooshy.  I always thought I wasn’t a wool person, but I think I’ve just been using the wrong kind of wool.  I love this stuff!  I did have to alternate skeins to avoid pooling, but the resulting fabric full of subtle color changes is well worth it.  I hope that I can wear this sweater at least once before the Houston winter is over!

original

Leave a Reply

